1-2016 Add me to the compost pile

If I should die before I wake,
All my bones and sinew take;
Put me in the compost pile,
And decompose me for a while.

Wind, water, rain will have their way,
Returning me to common clay!
All that I am will feed the trees,
and little fishes in the seas.

On radishes and corn you munch–
You might be having me for lunch!
And then excrete me with a grin–
Chortling, “There goes Lee again!!”

(These are the words to a song written by Lee Hays, a member of the Weavers, a folk group who sang in the 1940’s and 50’s)

About drpartha
I help my students discover mathematics and computer science. More about me at :: http://drpartha.org.in/profpartha/parthas.htm

Leave a Reply

